Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Welcome to the University of Cincinnati Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Federally Mandated
Both federal Animal Welfare Act Regulations (AWARs) and the Public Health Service Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals (PHS policy) require that the Chief Executive Officer or his/her designee appoint an Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC). The IACUC responsibilities are to oversee and evaluate the institution's animal program, procedures, and facilities to ensure they are consistent with the recommendations in the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals (the Guide), the AWARs, and the PHS Policy.

Ethically Obligated
Essentially, the IACUC serves as an animal research ethics committee for the welfare of animals. The IACUC plays an important role in ensuring that the animals under its purview are humanely treated.

Contact Us


Human Research Protection Program
(ML0567)
University Hall, Suite 300
51 Goodman Drive
PO Box 210567
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0567
General Inquiries:
558-5259
irb@ucmail.uc.edu

Click here to identify the person dedicated to serving your research group

 

Angela Braggs-Brown, RAC, CIP, MA
Director
558-3005
angela.braggs-brown@uc.edu

Kareemah Mills, CIP
Assistant Director
558-3576
kareemah.mills@uc.edu

Claudia Norman, CIP
Sr. Regulatory Compliance Specialist
558-5784
claudia.norman@uc.edu

Human Protection Analysts

Jo Ann Behrle
558-5273
joann.behrle@uc.edu

Lauren Davis
558-2087
lauren.davis@uc.edu

Laura Goins
558-0479
laura.goins@uc.edu

Martina Harmon
558-1881
martina.harmon@uc.edu

Tara Knipp
558-3731
tara.knipp@uc.edu 

Deborah Quinones-Stewart
558-6915
deborah.quinones-stewart@uc.edu

Human Research Auditors

Jackie Glass, CCRP
558-0453
jacklyn.glass@uc.edu

Tammy Stiver, CCRP
558-5209
tammy.stiver@uc.edu