Human Research Protection Program

Welcome to the University of Cincinnati Human Research Protection Program

The University of Cincinnati is committed to the highest standards of ethical conduct in our Human Research Protection Program (HRPP). The protection of human subjects participating in research is a shared responsibility of investigators, key research personnel, and the institution. Our policies and standard operating procedures (SOPs) ensure that we act responsibly, ethically, and in compliance with federal, state, and local regulations. Below is a description of the various services we have in place to protect human participants.

 

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

Human subjects research at the University of Cincinnati is conducted according to a Federalwide Assurance (FWA), unless exempt. The FWA requires that research proposals be reviewed by a convened committee known as the IRB, and the committee is supported by HRPP staff. The IRB website contains information on the IRB, the protocol process, HIPAA waivers, forms orientation, procedures, regulations, and FAQs.

 

Quality Assurance Activities

Quality Assurance Activities are designed to ensure protection of research participants and also facilitate and enhance the highest quality of research.  This service is designated to improve the quality of research by detecting errors and/or omissions that might occur when performing research activities. All studies may be audited for quality assurance with the emphasis on studies with moderate to high risk to subjects, investigator initiated studies, studies involving vulnerable populations, studies for which there are or may be a conflict of interest, and studies where monitoring does not already occur. The Quality Assurance Activities website contains information on FDA warning letters, regulatory mandates, and policies, and FAQs.

 

 

Contact Us


Human Research Protection Program
(ML0567)
University Hall, Suite 300
51 Goodman Drive
PO Box 210567
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0567
General Inquiries:
558-5259
irb@ucmail.uc.edu

Click here to identify the person dedicated to serving your research group

 

Angela Braggs-Brown, RAC, CIP, MA
Director
558-3005
angela.braggs-brown@uc.edu

Kareemah Mills, CIP
Assistant Director
558-3576
kareemah.mills@uc.edu

Claudia Norman, CIP
Sr. Regulatory Compliance Specialist
558-5784
claudia.norman@uc.edu

Human Protection Analysts

Jo Ann Behrle
558-5273
joann.behrle@uc.edu

Lauren Davis
558-2087
lauren.davis@uc.edu

Laura Goins
558-0479
laura.goins@uc.edu

Martina Harmon
558-1881
martina.harmon@uc.edu

Tara Knipp
558-3731
tara.knipp@uc.edu 

Deborah Quinones-Stewart
558-6915
deborah.quinones-stewart@uc.edu

Human Research Auditors

Jackie Glass, CCRP
558-0453
jacklyn.glass@uc.edu

Tammy Stiver, CCRP
558-5209
tammy.stiver@uc.edu