Human Research Protection Program

Reporting Concerns for Human Subjects Research

Human subjects research at the University of Cincinnati is conducted according to a Federalwide Assurance (FWA), unless exempt. The FWA requires that research proposals be reviewed by a convened committee known as the Institutional Review Board (IRB). The IRB Office provides guidance to the researchers and supports 2 IRB committees. The IRB site contains information on the IRB Committees, the IRB Office,and the protocol process. You will also find information on HIPAA waivers, forms orientation, procedures, regulations, and FAQs.


The University's IRB recommends that concerns first be discussed with one's supervisor. Many instances of noncompliance may be corrected within the research team.


    Research Compliance: Phone - (513) 558-5034
                                 Email - research.compliance@uc.edu  


If all internal routes of reporting noncompliance are unsuccessful, the University has contracted with a compliance agency for a toll-free reporting hotline. The greatest benefit of the toll-free hotline, other than being free to the user, is the anonymity! Callers may report noncompliance and request a copy of the final report. Although the caller's name and mailing address may be given to the compliance agency, no one at the University may access this information. The caller remains 100% anonymous to all individuals at the University! It should be noted that this hotline could be used to report any misconduct at UC's Medical Center. The hotline is not restricted to research concerns.


      Toll-Free Anonymous Compliance Hotline - (800) 889-1547

                      You may also file a report via the web:  Anonymous Online Reporting

Contact Us


Human Research Protection Program
(ML0567)
University Hall, Suite 300
51 Goodman Drive
PO Box 210567
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0567
General Inquiries:
513-558-5259
irb@ucmail.uc.edu

Click here to identify the person dedicated to serving your research group

 

Angela Braggs-Brown, RAC, CIP, MA
Director
513-558-3005
angela.braggs-brown@uc.edu

Kareemah Mills, CIP
Assistant Director
513-558-3576
kareemah.mills@uc.edu

Claudia Norman, CIP
Education and Outreach Specialist
513-558-5784
claudia.norman@uc.edu

Human Protection Administrators
Laura Goins
513-558-0479
laura.goins@uc.edu

Martina Harmon, MS
513-558-1881
martina.harmon@uc.edu

Tara Knipp, CIP
513-558-3731
tara.knipp@uc.edu

Christa Preston, CIP
513-558-2087
christa.preston@uc.edu

Deborah Quinones-Stewart
513-558-6915
deborah.quinones-stewart@uc.edu

Quality Assurance Auditors
Jackie Glass, CCRP
513-558-0453
jacklyn.glass@uc.edu


StrokeNet CIRB

Susan Roll, RN, BSN, CCRP
CIRB Liaison
513-558-6061
susan.roll@uc.edu

Jo Ann Behrle
Human Protection Administrator
513-558-5273
joann.behrle@uc.edu

Keeley Lynch
CIRB Coordinator
513-558-5209
keeley.lynch@uc.edu