Institutional Review Board

Frequently Asked Questions

Who

Expand all

  • Who is the IRB?

  • Who has to go through the IRB?

  • Who do I contact about my study?

  • Who do I list as the PI for my study?

What

Expand all

  • What is research?

  • What is a "Human Subject"?

  • What is generalizable knowledge?

  • What is a "Protocol"?

  • What is the IRB's function/purpose?

  • What is an "IRB of Record", "Tandem Review", or "Reliance"?

  • What documents are required?

  • What is the Review Process?

  • What does Exempt, Expedited and Full Board mean?

  • What is the difference between the Protocol and the RRSF?

  • What if I have to travel/leave the country for my research?

When

Expand all

  • When should I submit my study?

  • When should I expect my study to be approved?

  • When do I need translated documents?

  • When does my study require review by Full Board?

  • When are the Board Meetings?

Where

Expand all

  • Where do I submit my materials?

  • Where is the IRB Office located?

  • Where does my study go after I submit it to the IRB?

Why

Expand all

  • Why is my study not considered Human Subject Research?

  • Why do I have to submit to the IRB?

  • Why am I given an IRB Number?

How

Expand all

  • How does the IRB review a study?

  • How do I contact the IRB?

Contact Us


Human Research Protection Program
(ML0567)
University Hall, Suite 300
51 Goodman Drive
PO Box 210567
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0567
General Inquiries:
513-558-5259
irb@ucmail.uc.edu

Click here to identify the person dedicated to serving your research group

 

Angela Braggs-Brown, RAC, CIP, MA
Director
513-558-3005
angela.braggs-brown@uc.edu

Kareemah Mills, CIP
Assistant Director
513-558-3576
kareemah.mills@uc.edu

Claudia Norman, CIP
Education and Outreach Specialist
513-558-5784
claudia.norman@uc.edu

Human Protection Administrators

Laura Goins
513-558-0479
laura.goins@uc.edu

Martina Harmon, MS
513-558-1881
martina.harmon@uc.edu

Tara Knipp, CIP
513-558-3731
tara.knipp@uc.edu

Christa Preston, CIP
513-558-2087
christa.preston@uc.edu

Deborah Quinones-Stewart
513-558-6915
deborah.quinones-stewart@uc.edu

Quality Assurance Auditors
Jackie Glass, CCRP
513-558-0453
jacklyn.glass@uc.edu

Brianna Mills
513-558-2286
brianna.mills@uc.edu

StrokeNet CIRB
Susan Roll, RN, BSN, CCRP
CIRB Liaison
513-558-6061
susan.roll@uc.edu

Jo Ann Behrle
Human Protection Administrator
513-558-5273
joann.behrle@uc.edu

Keeley Lynch
CIRB Coordinator
513-558-5209
keeley.lynch@uc.edu